new job blues


Well today was my first day at the salon. And I had a truly delightful client. She’d only had two massages before today, and
both of them had been from one of my coworkers. So she was a bit hesitant to receive one from me.

But the massage went really well. In fact, upon leaving, she said that she
wanted to come back to see me. That felt
really good. And right about then, I
really needed to feel better.

You see, I am working with a bunch of really unfriendly
women. I smile at them and say,
“hi.” But each time I do so it’s met
with such a look of disgust you’d think I’d slapped their mothers and slept
with their boyfriends. I just don’t know
what to make of it.

I’m so used to working around massage therapists – who truly
are some of the friendliest people you’ll ever meet. So to be surrounded by these distant women
simply confuses the heck out of me.

My only consolation today was to be found in the fact that I
am very good at my job – and that I am here for the benefit of my clients and
myself, not my coworkers.

But you know what?

It
sure wouldn’t hurt to be liked, too.

2 thoughts on “new job blues

Leave a Reply

