What’s cookin’

One of the saddest things about my computer crashing was that it happened quickly enough that I was unable to save my MasterCook recipes.  Now, those of you who know me at all, know I love to cook food that makes people happy.  Even if I never got to sit down and eat it myself, just watching someone else’s eyes light up as they elicit a small moan of gastronomic pleasure makes my heart go thump.  And yes, before you think I’m some kind of anorexic saint, I do also love to eat.  (Any picture you find of me can attest to that fact.)

Yep, I’d collected some true pleasures.  But I didn’t take the time to back up the cookbook properly, ‘cause I’m always on the hunt for the next wowing delight.  SO now I ask for your help.  I NEEEED some fantastic vegetarian recipes.  And this does not include ingredients that I won’t be able to find.  Please remember that I live in a town with a population of 500 and have to drive 45 minutes to get to the big town of say 30,000.  So it’s just a little difficult for me to get agar agar flakes and hijiki.

On another note, I tried in vain to find a good recipe for vegetarian Swedish meatballs.  Alas, the search was in vain.  On RecipeZaar I found on that, at first glance, looked good.  But the reviews declared it a bit too crumbly.  My search must continue….

Speaking of RecipeZaar, does anyone use their professional level services?  If so, do you find them worth it?  I would like to avoid the panic of losing my much loved recipes in the future.  So I’m actively looking for solutions. 

But back to the post at hand…

I’m looking for casseroles, desserts, soups…all those good stick to your ribs, comfort foods that will be so satisfying as the weather begins to cool.  You know; the tried and true recipes that you just keep coming back to.

So, how about it?  What’s your favorite recipe to share?

Here’s one from me to start the ball rolling:

Curried Zucchini Soup
Serves 4

This recipe came to me from Chris’ cousin Kristin last year when I had zucchini coming out of my ears.  We loved it so much that it became a regular dish around the house.  It is especially delicious when eaten with toasted pita wedges.

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 cup chopped yellow onions
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons curry powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pinch cayenne
2 pounds zucchini, trimmed and chopped
3 1/2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup heavy cream
Chopped cilantro, garnish

1.     In a medium pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat.

2.     Add the onions and garlic and cook, stirring, until soft, about 3 minutes. Add the curry powder, salt, and cayenne, stir, and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the zucchini; reduce to medium heat, and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, 5 to 6 minutes.

3.      Add the stock and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the zucchini is very tender, about 20 minutes.

4.      Remove from the heat.

5.      With a hand-held immersion blender, or in batches in a food processor, puree the soup. Return to medium heat and stir in the cream. Simmer for 3 minutes. Adjust the seasoning, to taste.

6.      Pour into a clean container and let cool slightly. Refrigerate until well chilled, 4 to 6 hours.

7.      To serve, ladle into large cups, garnish with cilantro, and serve with hot pappadums or pita toast. This soup may be served hot or cold.

10 thoughts on “What’s cookin’

  1. I haven’t checked in for a few days and you are off and blogging! LOL There is a new cookbook page up that has some recipes in it. I have a button on my page sidebar. They might have a few good ones. I will see what I can come up with and post! I love any zuchinni soup recipe. This one sounds great!

  2. Thank you, Fruitful Spirit

    Lynda:
    You have, what, eight blogs and running. I wish I were so ambitious. But I am thinking of having a running theme….hmmm.

  3. LOL. I created a recipe one for my dad, but he hasn’t used it yet.

    http://opahenrycooks.blogspot.com/

    He keeps telling me he will get to it. This one was mailed to me by SparkPeople.

    Rustic Roasted Veggies

    Serves: 6

    These bite-sized morsels are so savory and juicy they will explode in your mouth. Roasting them adds a depth and richness that transforms ordinary cooked vegetables into something elegant. Reprinted with permission from HOW IT ALL VEGAN! by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer (www.GoVegan.net), Arsenal Pulp Press.

    INGREDIENTS
    2-4 medium carrots, chopped
    2-3 medium potatoes, chopped
    8-10 gloves garlic, peeled
    6-8 mushrooms, halved
    1 small yam, cubed
    1/2 lb medium tofu, cubed
    2-4 tbsp olive oil
    1 tbsp dill
    2 tbsp rosemary
    cracked chilies (to taste)
    salt (to taste)
    pepper (to taste)

    DIRECTIONS
    1. Preheat oven to 350F. Place the vegetables and tofu on lightly oiled cookie sheet or lasagna pan and drizzle olive oil over them. Sprinkle with dill, rosemary, chilies, salt, and pepper and mix together until well incorporated.
    2. Bake for 40-60 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Remove from oven when potatoes can be pierced easily with a fork.

    NUTRITION INFO
    Calories: 219
    Fat: 10.4 g
    Carbohydrates: 25.1 g
    Protein: 9.3 g

  4. Here is another. Unless you don’t eat cheese.

    Zucchini Lasagna
    Nutrition Information

    Fat: 9.7 g
    Carbohydrates: 40.1g
    Calories: 257.8
    Protein: 16.4g

    All Nutrition Information

    Courtesy of the NLHB, part of the National Institutes of Health and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov

    Ingredients
    1/2 lb lasagna noodles, cooked in unsalted water
    3/4 c part-skim mozzarella cheese, grated
    1 1/2 c fat free cottage cheese
    1/4 c Parmesan cheese, grated
    1 1/2 c raw zucchini, sliced
    2 1/2 c no salt added tomato sauce
    2 tsp basil, dried
    2 tsp oregano, dried
    1/4 c onion, chopped
    1 clove garlic
    1/8 tsp black pepper

    Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350 °F. Lightly spray 9- by 13-inch baking dish with
    vegetable oil spray.

    2. In small bowl, combine 1/8 cup mozzarella and 1 tablespoon
    Parmesan cheese. Set aside.

    3. In medium bowl, combine remaining mozzarella and Parmesan
    cheese with all of the cottage cheese. Mix well and set aside.

    4. Combine tomato sauce with remaining ingredients. Spread thin
    layer of tomato sauce in bottom of baking dish. Add a third of
    noodles in single layer. Spread half of cottage cheese mixture on
    top. Add layer of zucchini.

    5. Repeat layering. Add thin coating of sauce. Top with noodles, sauce,
    and reserved cheese mixture. Cover with aluminum foil.

    6. Bake for 30–40 minutes. Cool for 10–15 minutes.

    Makes 6 servings.

  5. Oh thank you Lynda.

    The first one reminds me of a recipe I gat from my friend, Gem. We just call it Octoberfest. You cut up potatoes, sweet potatoes, onion & sausage (I usually do two pans – one for Chris and a vegetarian one for Maya & myself). Then drizzle the whole thing with Olive Oil and toss in a bunch of peeled garlic cloves. Partially drain & add a can of fire roasted tomatoes and cook the whole thing at a high setting until veggies are crisp on the outside and wonderful on the inside.

    If you serve this with a good crusty bread, you can smear the garlic on it like butter and then sop up whatever drippings are left.

    Man, am I hungry now!

  6. I can’t help you out. I don’t think that I have any vegetarian recipes. You would think, being Catholic and not being able to eat meat on Fridays during Lent, that I would.

  7. I will hunt down those you wrote down…way too long ago…and I…(*&@$#^$#@) never did anything with them…..
    Back to my risotto with parm, fresh tomatoes from the garden and peas….

  8. I can explain Shelli’s situation. She eats fish on Friday. At least, we always did at lent. 🙂

    I tried the zucchini lasagna on Sunday. It was wonderful!

  9. Shelli:
    I am shaking my head in bewilderment.

    Oooh, Elisabeth, I would love that. And I don’t even have to go through pregnancy first.

    Lynda:
    I still haven’t tried that one. Sounds like I should.

Leave a Reply

