Maya

There aren’t any truly memorable songs about school being back in session.  I mean, there are a million songs about school being out for the summer, or skipping school, or even smoking in the boy’s room.  But there aren’t a lot that say, “Hey, what a great day…it’s the first day of school!”  Do you know why?

No one writes songs for 36 year old women.  At least no one that I usually want to listen to.  So I’ll shout it from the rooftops myself.  It’s my kid’s first day of high school today. 

And while that makes me feel way too old to do a little jig, I’m happy for her.

Gone are the awkward days of middle school (remember when we called it junior high?).  She can relax and begin to feel comfortable in her own skin again.  Add to that the ability to focus on something in the distance…that light at the end of the tunnel that we call College, or her ticket out – however you want to look at it.

Don’t get me wrong.  Maya is terrific.  I can’t imagine a better kid.  But, it’s good to see her turning into her own person. 

And speaking of, I don’t know if you remember my talking a while back about her high school.  Yep, Maya’s off to Northpoint Expeditionary Learning Academy (NELA) which should be a great experience for her.  They will be spending much of their time learning “on site” this year.  This includes weeklong camping trips and eventual international travel.  What a fantastic opportunity. 

But Maya (despite her obvious enthusiasm) has to retain some teen age angst.  Yesterday, she repeatedly bemoaned the fact that she was getting up at 5:00 to go sit in the park all day.

Yep, you read that correctly. 

  • It’s the first day of school.
  • It’s being held in the creek side park. 
  • And she has a problem with that? 

I would have jumped all over the idea.

I have a feeling she’ll change her mind quickly.

I can’t wait to hear all about it tonight.

8 thoughts on “Maya

  1. To quote Maya’s mother’s father’s mother;”That makes me feel so old!”. What an opportunity. I didn’t get to go spend time in the woods and call it studying until my senior level college biology courses.

  2. Did some quick catching up. Sounds like things are getting back to where they were before life got in the way! So glad you are home and your small angel is doing so well. And your older angel sounds like a true teen! I love the words teen age angst! Hope you are having a wonderful Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

