ho-hum

Well the Ronald McDonald House is a great place.  Unfortunately, we aren’t there today.  Yep, we’re back in the hospital for a couple of days.  Just in time to watch the fireworks from a second floor window.  We’re slowly collecting hospitalized holidays.

Fortunately, Kajsa’s issue right now has as much to do with being on strong drugs with a normal kidney as anything else.  You see, she has a drug called Cellcept, which is notorious for causing diarrhea..and boy, did it work on her.  So she go super dried out this weekend.  This created an acidotic state as well as driving up her creatinine.  And without the benefit of dialysis, she simply acted like any other toddler – and got sickly.  So her we sit, bored (me) and sleepy and grumpy (her). 

But we aren’t even giving up our space at RMH, since they hope to have us out within a couple of days.  I certainly hope so, as my folks fly in on Thursday.  Right about now, I sure can’t wait to see them.  Maybe I can even be babied a bit for a little while ie: shower, sleep, and let someone else change a diaper.

If we get a chance, we’re also going to try to drive up to our home this weekend.  Yippee.  We’ll see.

In the happy news, Kajsa had what, for her, is pretty much her first bath on Sunday.  we climbed in together and played with bubbles, splashed and really, thoroughly washed her hair.  It was delightful.  She gets de-accessed on Fridays, so we’ll be able to have bath-time fun each weekend.

I’ll update asap.  Thank you everyone for your happy wishes and good vibes.  It always feels so great to come here and see them cheering us on.  I’ll give Kajsa extra hugs for all of you.

15 thoughts on “ho-hum

  1. I’m sorry for this setback. Chris called me yesterday to let me know and I just ache for all of you. But, as he said, this is just a bump in the road and you all have travelled over so many of them that I’m sure you see it as just part of the ride. Give hugs to Kajsa from Grandma Lynne and I will call ASAP.
    As for the bath, sounds like both of you really enjoyed that special first! I can almost hear her giggles! XOXOXO

  2. I’m sorry you are back in the hospital. I will really send you that stuff asap. I am so sorry that I haven’t sent it yet. Bless you and I hope she is better soon.

  3. You simply find the very best images to accompany your entries!

    Of course, sorry to hear you’re back in again. Cellcept also seriously, *seriously* screwed with Anni’s ability to sleep for about a month after she started. So hopefully Kajsa won’t get that side-effect.

    Diarrhea sucks. So sorry she’s back in. But happy to hear about the first bath. What fun!

  4. Hey guys, we’re thinking about you up here. I’m sorry you had to go back to the hospital, but I’m glad it won’t be very long. Things are good here, i’m going to send you alink to some pics, hopefuly you can access it. Harley is doing great! Hope you have fun with your folks. Love you all
    Jenn, Michael, Elora, and Harley

  5. Oh so sorry for the small set back. She will bounce right back I am sure. She seems to be in her stride now! I am praying for this to pass very quickly and I hope you get tons of babying when the folks arrive!

  6. Rowan,
    Sorry you guys are back in the hospital. I wish Kajsa a speedy recovery and return to RMH. I am so glad your parents are coming to help out. Crazy no matter how old you get, you always want your Mom and Dad in times of stress! Erick and I think of you guys everday! Love Katie Bupp

  7. Hope you were able to go back to the Ronald-McDonald-home soon –
    best wishes for your girl with the beautiful name!

  8. Hey mom. I know that Kajsa is having that surgury today, but I’m glad that everything is going well. I miss you SO MUCH! I really wish I was their with all of you, but I’ll see you in…12 days! I love you so much mom, and I can’t wait to see you!!!!

  9. Just wanted to remind you that you’re all in my thoughts and prayers! I love and miss you TONS! I’m glad your parents are there to give you a glimpse of a break… or at least to switch up the routine and give you an adult’s company! Wish I could be there, too!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

