Thank you letter

So I can only get a few minutes in today. But I just wanted to let everyone know that Kajsa is continuing to improve. What a flippin’ trooper. I am just so amazed by her sheer strength of will and how beautifully it translates to her ability to handle physical stresses. Kids are just so unbelievable sometimes.
                             >>>>>…<<<<<
In other news, we got CAREPACKAGES today. Man, did we ever? The first on received was from my sister, Heather. (Not to be confused with Chris’ sister Heather. (Odd, eh?) But anyway, we got this big old beat up looking box. I mean this thing looked like it had been through the apocalypse – or at least around the world a couple ‘o times. It’s amazing that anything was still inside. The best part was the big sticker on the side proclaiming its insured status. What do you think it would have looked like had she not insured it?

But inside were all sorts of treats. Firstly, it helps to have a sis who owns a salon. We got organic shampoo, conditioner and lotions. Mmm. We’ll be the best smelling family in the aquarium! Furthermore, her salon is upstairs from a health food co-op. So we have boxes of soymilk, org juice and all the super natural junk food a new to eating kiddo could dream of.

But the best was the rest of it. Kajsa is now the proud owner of her own tabletop puppet theatre. And she has soooo many finger puppets and one unicorn hand puppet. This coordinates so well with the fish puppet that one of her nurses bought for her at the gift shop. So now, Kajsa can be entertained and I no longer need worry about my brain disintegrating from lack of use.

My folks sent a great care package, too. Among the items were books for each of us, and more smell goods, as well as Kajsa’s very first game of UNO. It’s Winnie the Pooh and super cute. I spent a good half an hour just trying to get her to fully grasp the concept. It’ll still be a while. But I sure don’t mind. We were in the middle of reading the book about the gingerbread baby when her dinner arrived. Yummy pizza. She smacked and gulped and made all sorts of new wonderful noises. We’ll work on manners later. Right now, I’m just so happy to indulge her every gastronomic desire.

Lastly, we received a lovely package from Chris’ Aunt Wynne and Uncle Rick. I hope that they’ll be happy to know that I promptly changed her into the adorable gown. She now, truly is the darling of the ICU. I even put up her hair and snipped off a bit of the package ribbon to tie a cute little bow around the pony tail. And as for that kitty doll house, I never would have thought to buy her one of those, but it was a huge hit. She’s not stopped playing with it since I pulled it out. We put her table up high enough that she can see into it, and she’s just delighted.

You all are so thoughtful. And with all of these new came pictures and cards. What a neat idea. I have now put up photos of family members as well as the letters and cards. So Kajsa is quite literally surrounded by smiling family members. It’s pretty cool. In fact, it’s perhaps my favorite part. It makes this bizarre environment feel so much more like a temporary home, rather than just the fish bowl.

I love you all.

Thank you.

11 thoughts on “Thank you letter

  1. OMG. I guess I should have hit the “subscribe” button because I am just now getting the news that Kajsa was transplanted. That is wonderfully awesome and glorious.

    Sorry to hear that your trip out of the PICU was so short-lived. Life immediately post-transplant is a pretty up and down experience, and not really so much fun. But I can’t wait to hear the Kajsa stories once she starts living life with a healthy kidney.

  2. Rowan I miss you. Glad to hear about Kajsa. Can I send a care package? I have lots of little fun stuff left from daycare that I could send her way. (New stuff, I should say.) Let me know. Send me your address or which hospital. I would love to do something, anything for you.

  3. right on! organ donation is the best!

    my sister has had three kidney transplants, two cadaver and one from my father.

    is it rude to ask why kajsa’s kidneys failed?

    my sister contracted Henoch-Schonlein purpura at the age oif three ( she is now 5 years into her third kidney and 30 years old!)

  4. I HATE it when they move you around the hospital, especially when it’s unexpected. I’m hoping you all are set for smooth sailing from here on out.

    Those are some really cool care packages!

    I’m just so so so happy to hear that she’s getting better. Hooray for Kajsa!

  5. I’m so happy Kajsa is doing so well. ANd that you got lovely care packages. But we want to send some too! Please tell us how! Hugs to you all. 🙂

  6. Hi, I got to ‘know’ you a bit from your funny and sensitive comments over at “falling down is also a gift”. Now I read your daughter has finally had her kidney-transplant – so glad to hear she seems to be doing very well so far.
    All my best wishes for her and you –
    Hannah

  7. Hooray, hooray! I’m so excited that she got her kidney. My mom’s kidney transplant went extremely well, and more than 4 years later she’s still had no major complications and is doing great. Hopefully your experience will be similar.

Leave a Reply

