hallelujah

As many of you know by now, Kajsa received her new kidney on Saturday morning.  And I am extremely happy to tell you that she is doing unexpectedly well. 

We should be leaving the PICU sometime today or tomorrow.  We will then spend a few days on the floor in isolation.  From there we’ll be at the Ronald McDonald house for about a month. 

I’m writing this from the hospital library.  Otherwise I’d include a photo.  But just know that she is looking better than ever. 

She was permitted food this afternoon and actually ate an entire bag of crackers.  This previously unheard of amount was treated by her as though it were old hat.  What a goof.

Also, for what it’s worth, our computer is in route to Gateway for repair.  I’ve gotten all of your comments and wished quite desperately that I could respond.  It is always so hearting to know that others are thinking of our family and wishing us well.

I’ll have this be a short post.  But know that I plan to share more of the story soon.  I’ve missed you all.  Thank you for being there…even when you couldn’t see that I was. 

Hugs to you all!

16 thoughts on “hallelujah

  1. Hey guys,

    We were so happy to here the news on Friday! I’m so glad Kajsa is doing so well, we’ve been telling everyone we know, we’re so excited. What a great Birthday present! We love you guys and are thinking about you lots. (Did I say so enough in a paragraph timespan?)

    Jenn, Michael, and Elora

  2. Jenn:

    I am so glad that you are so glad that we are so happy that she is so well. So there.

    Lot’s of love to you 3.9

    Oh, and by the way…Erick has our number, and we certainly don’t mind chatting up our happiness.

  3. Yay! Rowan, I am so happy for you and your family. I am happy to know that you will hopefully be back online soon.

    Congratulations to Kajsa. I will be praying that she continues to do well. I didn’t know that she was getting a kidney, but am happy that all went well!

    Bless you and your family. Hope to see you back soon with good stories to tell.

  4. Oh I am so very terribly happy I did a dance last night when I found out! *hugs* It’s so wonderful that Kajsa is doing great, and you sound good too. Please update with more as soon as you can and if there’s anything at all you/thefamily/kajsa needs/wants let us know – I’d love to send a care package while you’re away from home!

    -Miriam

  5. Don’t know if my other comment posted so I will try again.

    I am so glad Kajsa is doing so well. Congratulations on the new kidney! Looking forward to the update soon!

  6. Rowan, we are so happy for Kajsa and her family! What an awesome event! Now if you can just get your #&*!@*% computer fixed, you’ll begin to realize how much your presence has been missed! I didn’t realize how much I look forward to your words until they are not there. Lot’s o’ love from Texas, Dave

  7. Hi Rowan, Chris, Maya and Kajsa!!!

    Ron and I are ecstatic to hear this wonderful news and comforted to know that Kajsa is doing well. Know that you all are in our prayers and we think of you often!!
    Ron and Sue

  8. Wonderful, wonderful news!!! An answer to all our hopes, dreams and prayers! I too have been telling EVERYONE about her transplant and how well she is doing! Know that you are all in my heart and encouraged that Kajsa is recovering even faster than expected. Thanks for keepig us informed of her progress. I’ll look forward to seeing you on here more frequently and will be very glad when you get your computer fixed – I’ve missed you! Night nite

  9. I am glad to hear your wonderful news and just glad to hear from you again. I check often and it was nice to see a message this morning.

    God’s blessing to you and yours.

  10. The hospital has a channel that plays Finding Nemo…all day long. They actually call it “the Nemo channel”. And Kajsa loves it.

    So in the spirit of where my head is, I send out this message to each and every one of you.

    “You totally rock!”

    I was sooooo happy to see these comments. I’ve missed you all. Huge hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

