roots

I love my dad. You know, the guy who went mostly blind in
December, and is supposed to be sitting around in the dark, feeling sorry for
himself. Well, no. That simply wouldn’t do.

He’s since become an even
better potter, and is even taking his wheel over to Synergy Studios. He will be throwing pots, cups, and
whatever else suits his fancy. Apparently his things have been flying off the shelves.  (And not just because some guy keeps bumping into them, either.)

Furthermore, he’s going to a
rehab/mobility training facility in a month or two. There he will learn to better use his cane,
utilize echo location (he always was a bit batty), and accrue other helpful skills. Maybe then people will stop grabbing his arm
and dragging him across streets. Yep,
that really happened…poor woman honestly thought that she was being helpful.

So, he’s got a lot of this under
control. Notice my blog is no longer
visible from Saturn? He got software for
that, too. Truly amazing time we live
in, folks. Don’t get me wrong, he’s
still got a lot to learn, but knowing my Dad, he’ll figure it out quickly.

Apparently, email was a
snap. Today, I opened up my box to find
that he’d sent me the following:

"Lord,
I have a problem."


"What’s the problem, Eve?"


"I know that you created me and provided this beautiful garden and all of
these wonderful animals, as well as that hilarious comedic snake, but I’m just
not happy."


"And why is that Eve?"


"Lord, I am lonely, and I’m sick to death of apples."


"Well, Eve, in that case, I have a solution. I shall create a man
for you."


"Man? What is that, Lord?"


"A flawed creature, with many bad traits. He’ll lie, cheat and be vain;
all in all, he’ll give you a hard time. But he’ll be bigger, faster and will
like to hunt and kill things.  I’ll create him in such a way that he will
satisfy your physical needs.  He will be witless and will revel in
childish things like fighting and kicking a ball about.  He won’t be as
smart as you, so he will also need your advice to think properly."


"Sounds great," says Eve, with ironically raised eyebrows, "but
what’s the catch, Lord?"


"Well…You can have him on one condition."


"And what’s that, Lord?"


"As I said, he’ll be proud, arrogant and self-admiring…So you’ll have to
let him believe that I made him first. And it will have to be our little
secret

…you know, woman to woman."

Thanks, Dad.  You’re one of the smartest guys I know.

And I’m not even just saying that to stoke your male ego.

6 thoughts on “roots

  1. Your dad seems like a neat guy!
    The pic I posted of my pop today was taking in Holland, MI. HIS parents both came over from the Netherlands years back. My dad passed away almost 20 years ago. I sure do miss him. 😉

Leave a Reply

