Monday Memory 4.3.06

Monday Memories: Did I ever tell you about
The time I was driving along and found myself in the ditch?

So there I was having a pretty good day. Believe it or not, despite my generally
chipper demeanor, this doesn’t actually happen very often. So anyway, I was headed in to Prescott
for my Pilates class and feeling pretty good because I’d gotten away from home
early enough to be able to stop and get a new set of work out pants. Yes, I actually have lost a bit of weight,
and everything’s somewhat loose. 

So I was driving along, thinking about what a great day it
was. I’d just backed the music up to
Burning Spear’s “Play Jerry Play” and was looking forward to a nice drive in to
town. It had been sprinkling all day,
and with my nostalgic feelings for Seattle
blooming, I fully expected nothing more than to enjoy a mellow, happy trip in
to town.

Imagine my surprise, when all of a sudden the van began to
slide toward the left. I looked over
just long enough to see that I was headed (quickly) for a cliff face. Damn Arizona
rocks, thought I. So there I was,
racking my brain to remember all of the driving SNAFU scenarios I played over
in my mind – just in case. Turn in to
the curve…that was it. So I
tried. But there was NO response. None. Period. So I turned the wheel and
braked, toward the right. And that’s
when the van began to spin. It did not
spin slowly. In fact, I can barely even remember
the event. I do remember hitting my head
and thinking to myself, “Oh, is that all?”

Then I was sitting in a ditch. The music was still playing, but the engine
was off and all else was oddly quiet. I
reached over and turned off the stereo. About that time, I realized that I’d hit a barbed wire fence. Thinking about liability, I figured I’d move
the car and check to see how much damage I’d done. Like I needed to help somebody fix their
fence. But when I went to pull away, the
wheels just spun in place. “Great, now
I’ve got to find something to put under the tire.”

My first clue that something was wrong was when I tried to
open the door. It stuck and then with
pressure creaked, cracked, and bent metal. Bewildered, I stepped from the car. All I could think, once I saw my van was, “Holy Shit, this is bad.” And then, “Am I really okay – really?” I walked around the car a couple times before
someone stopped. He called 911 and then
let me use his phone to call Chris…who couldn’t understand a word that was
coming out of my mouth. Once again, I
would have made a great dolphin interpreter. I am just so squeaky when freaked out. But after a moment or two, we worked it out and he headed over.

Chris got there about fifteen minutes later. So did two ambulances, three cops, and a
partridge in a pear tree, for all I could tell. At one point my blood pressure was 150/90. At another, 70/50. Eventually, they figured that I was
okay.

And yes, I did at that time come to the realization that I
do, indeed, know everyone in town. Not
only did several of Maya’s friend’s parents work on me, but I was later asked
how I was at the bank, the gas station, and the market. Whether that is a pro or a con, I am still
unsure. But at least it is a heads up.

I’m pretty much fine, now. But I have been a bit of a lush this week. Especially after getting the word that our
beloved Fluffy was in fact totaled. So
now we are off to purchase another vehicle. Chris is rather adamant that we get a 4X4, as this could help to prevent future hydroplaning
events. I want something that actually
fits my frame. Right now, we are leaning
toward a Kia Sportage. I’d love to know
what, if anything people know about these vehicles. They seem fairly reliable – from everything
I’ve read so far. I just want to make
certain that we’ve taken care of everything we can.

That was, after all, a scary experience, the likes of which
I never want to repeat.

14 thoughts on “Monday Memory 4.3.06

  1. Whoa! Very scary, I’m glad you’re OK. That’s great you know so many people that could come help and give you support. I would have been freaking out, too!

  2. Wow, how scary was that. You always sound so matter of fact other than the high squeaky voice on the phone. Hope you are really alright. I think it’s nice that your whole community was concerned for you. Hope it made you feel valued and appreciated. MY MM is up.

  3. It sounds like you are in a great community. I always wanted to live in a small town.

    I am glad you are ok. I know nothing about cars but whatever you choose make sure it is safe.

  4. Wow that is scary. I am so glad you are alright. I have heard pretty good things about the Kia, as a matter of fact, I think it was rated a very family friendly car.

    Good luck in the search!

  5. Hey, I’m glad your ok. If you have any questions about the ins end of it, let me know, it’s what I do for a living. Just shoot me an email. I always tell my insureds and people we hit, it’s a car, they are replaceable, at least your only sore.

    Really though, any questions, email me.

    my mm is up

  6. Hey Rowan! Sorry to hear about your accident! I was just talking to my mom yesterday and *she* was in an accident on 405 on Saturday too! (I think that brings us over the double-digits for accidents in our family…)

    Also, she was looking at a Kia a coupla months back (before she bought a Carolla that now is all jacked up…) and she thought it was a cool little SUV. You might want to check into Suzukis because they make more cost-effective cars and have amazing warranties. Something like 10 years/100,000 miles regardless of owner.

    Take care!

  7. Rowan, you are hilarious! Seriously! But, I am so glad that you are okay. I know nothing of the car that you are talking about. Thanks for coming by my MM.

  8. Thanks everybody for your thoughtful comments. I’ll try to get to each of them tomorrow morning…as well as swinging by your memories. I’m so behind, since we were in Phoenix (Hell) car shopping all day.

    We did end up putting a deposit on a 1996 Kia Sportage. It hadn’t been detailed yet, and our insurance check won’t clear for several days. So we’ll be picking it up later in the week. It feels a bit strange to “own” a car without actually having posession of it.

    It’s a cute little thing. No major bells or whistles. But it does have everything that was on our checklist. I’m sure I’ll elaborate later.

  9. Ok, I LMAO over the “dolphin” remark. That is just so funny.

    I am so, so glad that you are ok. Sorry about your car, but you are ok and that is all that really matters.

  10. I’m a day late, but as they say, better late than never!

    Man that is scary!! Glad you were ok!! The squeaky thing cracked me up…I don’t squeak, I tend to get VERY LOUD! LOL 🙂

  11. Wow, you did a great job describing your accident! And what an accident it was, I’m glad you’re OK, yikes!

    I am fairly certain I saw Burning Spear live at Reggae on the Rocks in 1988. I know Jimmy Cliff was there. I was a little impaired…

Leave a Reply

