update to the accident

  • $17,000.00 van at 16% interest –
    more than I’d like to think about.
  • $3.00 a day interest for 3 years –
    Oh my God’ish amounts to pay.
  • $100.00 ticket for FAILURE TO AVOID
    A COLLISION – frustrating!
  • Walking away without a significant
    scuff to my person– Priceless.

So we met with the claims adjuster today.
Our car which they valued at $10,000.00 had
well over $12,000.00 worth of damage, classifying it as a total loss. So now (after B of A takes their cut) we get
a piddly amount of money to put towards a new car. But there are two very important facts of
which I must continue to remind myself.

  1. We  never again have to make a huge payment every month for far more car than we actually need.
  2. I am physically  OK. Very sore…but ultimately, OK.

This is, after all, why we bought this over-priced van in
the first place. Being a crazily hormone
poisoned pregnant woman at the time; I could only see the safety ratings. Price seemed so insignificant by comparison. And you know what? When it came down to it, I’m glad I was so obsessive. It permitted me to sit here, writing to you,
when I could very easily have landed in the hospital.

8 thoughts on “update to the accident

  1. I am so glad to hear you are ok. Life is priceless and sometimes the frustrations of cost has to remind us how lucky we are. Take a hot soak and get a good rub down from a caring person.

  2. oh my! i’m sorry to hear about your accident and then the frustrating ticket and van loss on top of it. but i’m soooo happy you are ok. hope the soreness goes away soon. hugs to you! 🙂

  3. We’re so glad you are O.K. You account of trying to remember the drill to get out of a spin and then probably doing something else was hillarious. My own experience in a similar, not nearly as destructive, situation was that I got out of the spin, went into a spin in the other direction, got out of that spin and then went back into a spin that nothing stopped. I guess the ticket is insurance driven – hydroplaning is sort of like hitting balck ice. You have no way to see it coming so how could youl take appropriate precautions?

Leave a Reply

