GREEN BURIALS

Ph_under_4

For those who want to live and die with as little ecological
impact as possible. See what amazing
visions others have had for their eternity.

Some of these are a bit far out there. While others bring a peace and comfort. You could become part of a reef or be buried
naturally in a 13 hectare pastoral vista where your loved ones would use GPS to locate your
whereabouts and cell phones to record songs, stories, or thoughts about your
life.
It’s all quite interesting.
And as Muir said:Quote_3



click.to.enlarge

5 thoughts on “GREEN BURIALS

  1. This reminds me of a book I read a while back: “Stiff” by Mary Roach. It really made me want to consider an alternative after reading about decaying bodies and the unnatural way in which coffins take up so much earth space. I’ve always thought spending thousands of dollars on burials and equipment to bury a body is kind of crazy. My family is originally muslim so if they have any say in burying me, there’s none of that coffin nonsense – just a white sheet to wrap you up and drop you six feet under! Sounds lovely doesn’t it…

  2. amygeekgrl:
    Yep. They take up a ton. I never really thought about it until I was about 12 and we tooke a family vacation to New Orleans. All “burials” are above ground there. It really gave me pause to see so many.

    Miriam:
    That is lovely…when compared to the alternative.
    I’ll have to check out Stiff.
    I’ve always told Chris to just strip off my clothes, stick an acorn in my mouth, and hope something good comes of it.

  3. Have you ever seen where they take your body, which is made of (however much) carbon and turn it into a gemstone that can then be divided among family members? I think it is called Lifestone or something like that. Nope, it is called LifeGem and can be found here: http://www.lifegem.com/ Intriguing and slightly creepy. I don’t know, I am not sure how I feel about it.

Leave a Reply

