Blue, blue Christmas

Tree_decorating_star_topping

Chris just left with Maya to
put her on a plane to
North
  Carolina
. And I’m feeling a bit blue. This is my first Christmas without her. I was hoping to put it off for another seven
years, or so. I’m going to miss her immensely
during the holidays. But it was
necessary. With Kajsa on the transplant
list, we need to stay in the state. And
at the time that I bought the tickets, way back in October, it
  seemed like a
great idea. We’d stay here; she’d go to
my
folks’ house and have our usual Christmas. Now I wish she was going to be with us. I’ll miss her so much. I don’t
even know when to open presents.

Tree_decorating_candy_cane

When she gets there, they are
all heading over to the coast – to my sister’s place. So my parents haven’t even decorated this
year. I know that I’ve only been to
their house once when it wasn’t decorated for Christmas. That felt weird…and it was August! So last night we went out and bought this
little bitty tree, and got some lights and stuff. I figured we’d have a little holiday cheer
before she left. Maya popped and strung
popcorn, while Chris made hot chocolate and I figured out how to assemble my
$10.00 artificial wiry pole. (Real trees
are prohibitively expensive in the desert!) Then we decorated the whole thing, placed the star, and lit it. (Cue angelic host.)Tree_decorating_wheres_the_tree

You know it’s just this rinky
dink little thing, but the look in the girls’ eyes was fantastic. I was expecting it from Kajsa, as she
probably has no former memory of such a thing. But Maya was really excited, too. My parents’ tree’s always been lit by the time we see it. This was the first time that I think we’ve
ever done this trimming stuff together. It was fun, and you could have blown me over with a feather. Who knew that I’d get that into something so
simple and sentimental?

Tree_decorating_excitedMaybe it’s not so bad…this starting of “new
traditions”.

11 thoughts on “Blue, blue Christmas

  1. Rowan, why’d ya have to go and make me cry today? That is so sweet. Your new tradition is a great idea. I’m sorry your family has to be apart this year. I hope that means that by next year, everyone will be healthy and together.

  2. Those pictures of your family are just too sweet. You’re all so beautiful. I’m sorry you’ll be missing Maya this year, but I’m glad you got to celebrate a little magic together before she left.

  3. Running2Ks:
    I didn’t mean to make you cry. I’m sorry.
    I’m sure that by this time next year, all will be calm…all will be bright.

    Miriam:
    Thank you. I love my beautiful family. And yes, anytime that we start something new, I feel like there’s a bit of magic to it.

  4. aww, that’s a wonderful memory you all will have of your tree lighting. 🙂
    i’m sorry you can’t all be together this year. that has to be hard. but she will be back before ya know it.
    those are great pictures, btw. thx for sharing them. 🙂

  5. Well hello Amy. It’s been a while. It looks like you’ve been taking some great pics, yourself. Yah, I know she’ll be back soon. I was just feeling whiney.

  6. I just smiled at the tree, but I’m sure you knew I had would be thrilled to see the tree.

    I am so sorry that you and your family will be apart. I hope that next year you will all be together enjoying the tree.

    Yeah for new traditions!

  7. I was thinking of you the whole time, ccw.

    Well, not the whole time that we were trimming, but at least a portion, and a lot of the writing time. I just kept thinking. “She’ll be so proud.”

    But it’ll be a long time before you see any snow-people salt and pepper shakers around these parts. 😉

  8. You will have a wonderful Christmas and you will make special memories.

    My thoughts are with you.

    By the way, one year my mom and I went out to Walgreens on Christmas day and bought a $10 artificial tree. It was marked way, way down. What a bargain. LOL.

  9. I am proud! 🙂 I love that you decided to do this and that your family enjoyed it so much.

    Isn’t it funny how we think of fellow bloggers when we are going about our days? I do this quite a bit, glad to see that I am not the only one.

  10. Chickadee:
    Yep. This one started out at the grand price of $16.00. I don’t know if I would have sprung for it then. I’m such a scrooge.

    Sarah:
    She’s already having a blast. Apparently, so far, she’s had a facial, haircut and eyebrow waxing…she’d never get that at our house! My parents called last week to remind me to have her bring a swimsuit for the hot tub. I don’t think she’s gonna be thinking of me too much.

    ccw:
    I do that all the time. My husband thinks I’m warped. “Why don’t you get some real friends?” I tell him that you all are real…just not here. And I’m still wroking on the other…we’re just a bit remote.

Leave a Reply

