What’s that smell?

Hotsoupbowl

We missed out on Halloween. Well, not Maya. She had a busy social schedule: spending the
night with friends and attending a couple of parties. Much to my chagrin, she made a truly
believable Barbie.

I should say Chris, Kajsa & I missed
out on Halloween. We are all three
sick. Yesterday, I didn’t get out of bed
all day. Which of course Kajsa found to
be delightful, as this put me completely at her mercy.

Since Chris got sick first,  I saw how this was
going to play out. So Monday night I
made a wonderful Southwest Chowder, knowing full well that I would be eating it
for the next couple of days.

That night as we were lying down for
bed, Kajsa told us that she enjoyed the food – or as she put it, “Soup,
nice.” Chris asked her what she liked
about the soup. After a brief pause to
think it over, her answer was “Mouth”. So apparently, the best thing about my chowder was the taste. I can handle that.

Oh, my water’s done boiling. I’m off to bed with another cup of tea.  But before I do, I’ll leave you with this recipe:

Santa  Fe Chowder

This recipe comes from one of The Moosewood
cookbooks – I forget which one.

(I haven’t adapted it for you vegans out
there.

I have confidence that you are
intelligent enough to figure it out for yourselves.)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons minced fresh green chili
    pepper
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 & ½ teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • ½ cup diced carrots
  • 2 cups peeled and diced sweet potatoes
  • 2 cups diced potatoes
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup diced red bell pepper or green
    bell pepper
  • 1 cup chopped tomato
  • 1 cup corn kernel, fresh or frozen
  • 1 cup diced zucchini or yellow squash
  • 2 ounces Neufchatel cheese or cream
    cheese
  • ½ cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup milk

1. In a large pot, add the chiles, onion, cumin, coriander, oregano, salt,
and oil.

2. Sauté over medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring frequently, until the
onions are clear.

3. Add in the carrots, sweet potatoes, potatoes, and water.

4. Bring mixture to a boil; reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 10
minutes.

5. Add in the bell peppers, tomatoes, corn, and zucchini, stir to combine.

6. Cover and cook on medium-high for 15 minutes or until the vegetables are
tender.

7. Transfer 3 cups of the vegetables from the soup into the container of a
blender.

8. Add the Neufchatel, cheddar, and milk.

9. Process until smooth.

10. Add puree back to the soup; stir to combine and reheat if necessary.

8 thoughts on “What’s that smell?

  1. Miriam:
    Thank you. I’ve been gulping down tea all day. Even though Im not feeling a whole lot better, I have been keeping nice and warm.

    rodney roe:
    It was quite good. And I know that it wasn’t a textural thing. She doesn’t like many textures. So we tend to only offer her foods within those parameters…at least when we want it to be for a real, actual meal. That was good thinking, though.

  2. Hope you are all feeling better soon! I spent all of last week in bed, the worst part of being pregnant=no medicine.

    That soup sounds really good. I must save the recipe.

  3. gawdessness & ccw:
    Thank you for the encouragement. I’m feeling a bit better today. So we’ll be heading into Prescott for PT. But as soon as I get home, it’s back to bed for me. As for the soup, I hope you like it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

