getting closer

Filthy_little_gnome_smallTomorrow, after retrieving my husband
from 
Sky Harbor Airport,
we will travel to The
Transplant Center,
to meet with Kajsa’s future surgeon, Dr. Fabrega. I am so excited I can hardly contain
myself. He is apparently quite good. I’ll still be grilling him a bit, just for
good measure.

After the surgical consult, we will
traipse downstairs for a blood test. This is the final pre-surgical big blood draw, and is the one used for
tissue typing. The results will take
about 10 days to come back to us. Then, Julie
(our tranny nurse) will petition insurance for permission to perform the
surgery. After the authorization is
given, Kajsa goes onto the donor list. Then the true finger drumming shall commence!

Breathe in
Breathe out
Breathe in
Breathe out…

12 thoughts on “getting closer

  1. I know how you feel. Yet another step closer. My best advice is to take one day at a time. I know it’s hard to not get all worked up about it.

    O love that picture of her, did she color on herself? Too cute!

  2. Thank you Sarah!

    It’s so good (& reassuring) to get advice from others who’ve been there.

    Oh, yes. She most certainly did draw on herself. It is currently one of her favorite hobbies. The way I see it…we’ve got bigger battles to face. What’s a little marker?

    And plus, it makes for some great future bribe material.

  3. How scary and exciting all at once. I hope everything goes well for your little girl, and the trip is successful. I’ll be thinking of your family. That picture is adorable! No stifling her creativity, huh? 🙂

  4. Congratulations on moving ever forward. It’s funny when I first read your post, I thought you wrote your “tyranny nurse.” Hee. You might feel like that sometimes!

  5. I saw your link on Sarah’s blog for her daughter Anna and thought I would stop over for a visit. My daughter was listd for Liver and Small bowel transplant you may have red her story on Anna’s blog. I just wanted to wish you well in your daughers journey. May they find the perfect organ for her.

  6. I’m sending many good thoughts your way that everything goes well.

    I laughed when I read “tranny nurse” because I thought now there’s a perverted Google search that will be sure to disappoint someone.

  7. Miriam:
    Girls got creativity down to a science. She loves to draw on any available surface. It keeps me running.

    gawdessness:
    Simply thank you.

    moreena:
    Do I ever! “Lay down and get your shots, Honey.” or “I know the B.P. machine doesn’t feel good, but we can sing Itsy Bitsy Spider and ABCs, Okay?” It’s worth it though. Some day she’ll realise it, too.

    BTW…tyranny was the word commanded by my spell check as the logical replacement for my apparent mistake.

    Colleen:
    Thank you for stopping by. I’ll be swinging over to check in with your stories. Thank you for the well wishes.

    Running2Ks:
    That’s a lot of good stuff! Thank you. And, back atcha.

    ccw:
    I love calling her that. Some day it’s going to slip out when we’re face to face.

    I actually thought about that when I shrunk the naked baby picture waaaay down.

    Thank you for the good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

