Livin’ the Wildlife

Bald_eagle_sunsetYup, we saw another amazing sight yesterday as we were
coming home.
This will now make my 2nd
random sighting of a bald eagle since moving to
Arizona. And mind you, I’m not talking about thinking,
“Hey, this might be a raptor” as I view it soaring high above us. What I refer to, is the experience of driving
along, pleasantly taking in the scenery, only to find yourself gazing into the
eyes of an incredibly huge bird just long enough for it to register.

It happened the same way both times. The first sighting was about six months
ago. Our neighbor and good friend, Chrissy,
and I were in the front seats with all the kiddoes riding along behind us. She was telling me that after a while we
wouldn’t think of the commute as long any more because we’d quickly get to know
every bend in the road, and gradually begin to tune them out. As she was telling me this, we approached a
full, beautiful, lone tree. She said
something to the effect of, “I love this tree.” And we both looked up into it. There, not ten feet away from our astonished faces was a majestic bald
eagle staring at us. Together, we
yelled, “eagle!” And then it was over.

Yesterday, Maya, Kajsa & I were high-tailing it
down highway 89 with the Doobie Brothers blaring, & just coming up to the
cutoff to “old” highway 89 (on which we live). Suddenly Maya said “Mom,
eagle.” I looked up into the tree to my
left just long enough to see one perched in the tree.

I can tell you right now; it doesn’t matter
how many times I see this bird. It
doesn’t matter how quickly it lasts, or how high in the tree or sky that eagle
is…I will always be awed by its beauty and poise. I feel lucky to be able to chance upon a
creature so regal. I can now see why it
was chosen to represent an entire country.

Since moving
here,
I’ve seen many odd and amazing critters. A few months ago, I told you of
our sightings of both Ringtail Cat and Gila Monster. We’ve also been witness to coyote, javelina,
road runners, buzzards, and quail, as well as other amazing animals. We live with chickens and our crazy cuddly
goat. And since the monsoons stopped,
I’ve seen more roadside wildflowers than I ever thought possible.

I might complain a lot about how boring it is
to live out away from culture and convenience, but, you know, this is still
pretty cool. My family gets to
experience the world in a manner that is rapidly disappearing from this great land
of ours…one which sees nature as an awesome and beautiful force.

Today, I feel lucky.

8 thoughts on “Livin’ the Wildlife

  1. This is a great post! What a spectacular sight. I cannot imagine the beauty of seeing a bald eagle as I drove down the road.

    Unfortunately, most of the wildlife (except the deer) is brought in by my cats. Not exactly relaxing or enjoying.

    Lucky you!

  2. A couple of years ago, while floating down the Broad river just north of the Sout Carolina line, I was suddenly aware of a large shadow on the water. Thinking airplane, I looked up to see a bald eagle studying us. It was no higher than 30 yards over our head. It swooped over the trees along the side of the river and the next time I saw it, it was not much more than a speck in the sky. These are truly magnificent birds! So glad Benjamin Franklin didn’t get his way, in which case we would have had a turkey as a national symbol.

    You’re lucky because you might also get to see golden eagles where you are.

  3. A couple of years ago, while floating down the Broad river just north of the Sout Carolina line, I was suddenly aware of a large shadow on the water. Thinking airplane, I looked up to see a bald eagle studying us. It was no higher than 30 yards over our head. It swooped over the trees along the side of the river and the next time I saw it, it was not much more than a speck in the sky. These are truly magnificent birds! So glad Benjamin Franklin didn’t get his way, in which case we would have had a turkey as a national symbol.

    You’re lucky because you might also get to see golden eagles where you are.

  4. Sarah:
    I’m sure that if he regularly took any drives, he’s bound to have some good stories.

    rodney roe:
    Oh, I look forward to that! I’ll have to look them up, so that I can recognize one when I see it.

    I’m totally with you on the turkey thing. Now those are some ugly beings, aren’t they?

  5. Sarah:
    I’m sure that if he regularly took any drives, he’s bound to have some good stories.

    rodney roe:
    Oh, I look forward to that! I’ll have to look them up, so that I can recognize one when I see it.

    I’m totally with you on the turkey thing. Now those are some ugly beings, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

