Anniversary

Glorious_lady_freedom

           Four years
ago today, I awoke to my roommate (and future brother in law), Erick knocking
on the door to my room. “Rowan, come
downstairs.”

I just knew
something was wrong. My hope, as I
sleepily went downstairs, was that it wasn’t about Maya.

As I entered the living room, I could
only stand there frozen, staring at the television. Once I regained some sense of composure, I
just looked over at him and said, "This is when everything changes. Things will never be the same again."

While my
eyes saw a loss of lives, my mind was racing through all the ways that we would
now lose our WAY of life.

And we
have. No one now enjoys the sweet
naiveté that so many of us previously took for granted. We have learned to look at each other with a
surface level communion, but an underlying taint of suspect. (I know that I now visually interrogate every
other passenger when I fly.)

Katrina has
brought up so many of the same emotions that 9-11 did. The difference now, I believe, is that this
time we can truly bond without that ongoing fear that stained and strained so
much that still surrounds the
New York
attacks.
 

I will
never forget the horror of September 11th, and how it has changed
our very culture. I struggle each day
with retaining some of my pre 9-11 innocence – with not letting the fear and
rabid anger integrate itself within my soul. For if I did…if I were to permit
distrust, anger, vengeance, and retribution to permeate my very self; then I
truly believe that I would lose my freedom. Freedom to love, dance, sing, and live life to its fullest. Then, the terrorists would have
triumphed. This I cannot allow.

So to all
of you I issue this challenge: Today while you remember, with heavy hearts, the
terrible assault that occurred four years ago, please take time to laugh…to
sing…to hug…to call up your loved ones to let them know you are thinking of
them.

Please continue
to actively participate in the pursuit of happiness.

7 thoughts on “Anniversary

  1. Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog!

    I don’t think anyone will ever forget what we were doing right at that momment on Sept. 11, 2001! I remember before it happened hoping I would go into labor (I was pregnant with Anna at the time) then when it happened praying with all my might I wouldn’t have her on that day. I sill have flags on my car, and outside of my home!

  2. Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog!

    I don’t think anyone will ever forget what we were doing right at that momment on Sept. 11, 2001! I remember before it happened hoping I would go into labor (I was pregnant with Anna at the time) then when it happened praying with all my might I wouldn’t have her on that day. I sill have flags on my car, and outside of my home!

  3. Hi all!

    Chrissy, thank you for the compliment. I am particularly fond of the name Rowan. I actually changed my name the summer of my thirtieth year.
    My parents had named me another very lovely name, but for some reason, it never fit. Even when I was a child, it always felt like someone else’s name.
    Yah, the loss of innocence was one of the biggies for me. I had been expecting that there would eventually be some large scale attack. But when it happened, I was so totally blown away. I think most people had similar experiences.

    Sarah, I’m so glad you came by. Of course I left a warm and heartfelt comment on your blog. I was moved. The experiences you’ve shared have touched me.
    I’m glad that you didn’t go into labor on the 11th. Her birthday’s the 14th, right? I hope you guys have a wonderful birthday celebration.

    Rodney Roe, It is always interesting to get your perspective on things. Being from a different generation than I, you usually lend another level of insight to my observations.
    I never would have thought of the shooting of President Kennedy. But it makes so much sense. And the similarities in the way in which the public was effected are indeed noteworthy. The world is ever-changing. I just hope that where we are going isn’t too far in the wrong direction.

  4. Hi all!

    Chrissy, thank you for the compliment. I am particularly fond of the name Rowan. I actually changed my name the summer of my thirtieth year.
    My parents had named me another very lovely name, but for some reason, it never fit. Even when I was a child, it always felt like someone else’s name.
    Yah, the loss of innocence was one of the biggies for me. I had been expecting that there would eventually be some large scale attack. But when it happened, I was so totally blown away. I think most people had similar experiences.

    Sarah, I’m so glad you came by. Of course I left a warm and heartfelt comment on your blog. I was moved. The experiences you’ve shared have touched me.
    I’m glad that you didn’t go into labor on the 11th. Her birthday’s the 14th, right? I hope you guys have a wonderful birthday celebration.

    Rodney Roe, It is always interesting to get your perspective on things. Being from a different generation than I, you usually lend another level of insight to my observations.
    I never would have thought of the shooting of President Kennedy. But it makes so much sense. And the similarities in the way in which the public was effected are indeed noteworthy. The world is ever-changing. I just hope that where we are going isn’t too far in the wrong direction.

Leave a Reply

