Thankful Thursday

805_041

Running2Ks has a great thing she does on her blog. It is a repeating entry she calls Thankful
Thursday. She posts things, events,
people, and such for which she is thankful that week, no matter how big or
small.

So while spreading her gracious spirit, and giving credit where credit is due…I
submit mine this week. I will try to
remember to do this again next week.

The main (personal) thing that I am thankful for this week
is that I  finally found a pediatrician
for Kajsa this week. You see, because of
her kidney disease, her primary insurance is Medicare. Yes, this is the same thing that you see
senior citizens receiving. Unfortunately, this means that most pediatricians are unable to see her. Those who can are generally taking no new Medicare
patients. We have spent the last six
months trying to find a competent pediatrician who can and will see her. Finally, with the help of our nephrology
clinic’s social worker, Lisa, we now
have one. Her name is Dr. Sarah
Bode. Not only is she affiliated with
Phoenix Children’s Hospital, but she has done a nephrology rotation. I’m very excited. Getting caught up on all of her wellness care
brings Kajsa that much closer to transplantation.

Another (HUGE) thing that I’m thankful for is the fact that
we live in an area with little or no natural disasters. This is actually a fairly difficult thing to
do. I grew up in the south and mid-west,
where we were regularly tormented by tornados. I then moved to
Seattle. While I was there, my mom worried constantly
that I’d be buried within a fault. This
week’s images of Hurricane Katrina have truly brought this to the forefront of
my mind. I am so sad for all the people
who have been impacted by this disaster. I am also thankful that my family and life were not a part of it.

Lastly, I am thankful that Maya brought home a progress
report today. So far, she’s getting all
A’s. She’s such a bright child and she
works very hard. Tomorrow she is going
to her first school football game with her friend Emily. I hope she has a great time.

So there you have it…my contribution to Thankful
Thursdays.

Lastly,

Thank You.

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. That’s like Kajsa’s. She was born with displastic and/or hypoplastic kidneys. Basically that means that they zigged when they should have zagged in utero, and somehow didn’t develop. At the time that she was diagnosed, they were about the size of my last pinky finger joint. And I’m quite short. They never grew again. It wasn’t so much a matter of them failing in their performance. They’re still trying to work. They just can’t possibly get the job done because her body grew too big for the task.

    Additionally, she was born with bladder reflux so there’s some question as to whether the kidneys were damaged by this before birth.

    As far as the ultrasound goes, when we checked it out; all it said next to kidneys was, “Yes”…Very helpful. If we ever were to have another child (doubtful since I’m 35 and we’ve got so much to work out first), we’d definitely have a more extensive ultrasound performed.

  2. *thanks*

    I am really happy that you have a great doctor. That is incredibly hard to find in this day and age. I’m glad to hear Kajsa will be getting the help and support she needs.

  3. Glad you found a good doc for Kajsa. I’m sure that’s such a relief. And congrats to Maya for having all As so far. 🙂
    Enjoy your weekend!

    P.S. Thanks for your post the other day about Tibet. Glad to hear that others are aware of the situation as well.

Leave a Reply

