Freecycle

Logo3

So I belong to this group called Freecycle, and it is a
truly good thing. Here’s how it works:

When you want to
find a new home for something — whether it’s a chair, a fax machine, piano, or
an old door — you simply send an e-mail offering it to members of your
Freecycle group.

Or, maybe you’re looking to acquire something yourself. Simply
respond to a member’s offer, and you just might get it. After that, it’s up to
the giver to decide who receives the gift and to set up a pickup time for passing
on the treasure.

One main rule: Everything posted must be free, legal, and
appropriate for all ages.

Non-profit organizations also benefit from The Freecycle Network.
Post the item or items you want to give away and a local organization can help
you get it to someone in need.

I originally wanted to start a  Weaver Mountain group. I checked into it, but to my surprise one
already existed in my area Wickenburg. I shouldn’t
have been too astounded…the network started in
Tucson, Arizona.
It has now spread globally and appears to be quite popular in 
Canada & Australia. After all one of there mottos is,

“Think
globally, recycle locally.”
 

Please, if you have some old stuff lying around, check out their web
page. There might just be a group in
your area, too.

4 thoughts on “Freecycle

  1. Oh, we have freecycle here too! It’s cool, but I end up giving my stuff away to friends. I should use it more often, but I have enough junk. Not that it’s junk, you know what I mean. Oh, and thanks for stopping by. I love to have new visitors! I also like mommas who have the same ideals as me. Not that the other mommas are bad, I can just relate to you better. 🙂 Oh, and your post about the “crap” word was funny. Seren likes to say “damn” and I have to correct her all the time. Every once in a while she says the F word too. It makes me look bad because I never even say that word!! I tell ya!!! 🙂

  2. Isn’t Freecycle great?? I’ve gotten rid of quite a bit of stuff there, and acquired some things for myself as well. I love to see things going to good use for other people rather than ending up in the landfills.

  3. Isn’t Freecycle great?? I’ve gotten rid of quite a bit of stuff there, and acquired some things for myself as well. I love to see things going to good use for other people rather than ending up in the landfills.

Leave a Reply

