I Married Charlie Brown

Football_1








O
ne of those days…

Today, Kajsa had physical therapy at 1:00 pm.
I got her
up and bathed, and was heading out the door when Chris arrived for his
afternoon time off. (Because of the
heat, Shaun and Chris work 
8:00-12:00
and
6:00-10:00 ) He said that he was also going in to Prescott
(45 minutes away) to register his car, buy a shock absorber, and replace the
front tires. I asked if he’d like to
meet me at Subway for a cheapo lunch. He
thought that sounded like a good idea and asked me to meet him at
2:00 at Discount tires. Super, I thought, a date with my husband – a
rare and happy event.

P.T. went well. Kajsa
charmed her way out of the hardest of activities, but did work on her kicking,
stair climbing and backward propulsion. Its pretty cool. Her P.T., Darcy,
has a very low swing. Kajsa can push
herself back and then raise both legs to swing. Little does she know that she’s working her quads and abs. We got some new orthothics and away we went.

I got to the tire store and circled around for a few
minutes. Not seeing Chris, I parked and
chilled out for a few minutes with NPR. They were having a nice interview with The Daily Show’s host John
Stewart. (Did you know: a recent study
showed that watchers of The Daily Show are in fact better informed than those
who watch the network news?) Well,
anyway, the chilling out didn’t last very long – on a couple of levels. Kajsa got bored and I decided that I was
being incredibly politically incorrect by running my AC in a parking lot. So I rolled down all the windows and turned
off the car. I left the key on in order
to listen to the radio. Kajsa was
promptly moved to the front passenger seat, which she thought was a fine treat,
indeed.

One hour and fifteen minutes later, I was a stinky, sweaty
mess, who couldn’t care less about current events or the song writing career of
Carole King. Kajsa was by now also very
sweaty and smelling quite suspicious, herself. So I went into 
Discount Tire Center to inquire as to any
personal messages which may have been left on my behalf. Nope. I called
my house. No
answer. I called Shaun and Chrissy’s. No answer. I began to seriously
worry. Flashes of fiery crashes flew through my head. My husband being
hauled off to jail for lack
of license plate or registration also crowded out rationality. I told
the guy that I was going to go cool
off at the Goodwill and would be back in one hour. After trying on five
outfits and leaving with
nothing but a new $0.49 board book for the toddler, drove back over to
the tire
store. No hubby. Now I was truly worrying!

On my way home, I drove through the Napa,
Checker’s and Auto Zone parking lots. The whole way back, I scoured the shoulders and cliffs below for a sign
of my love’s demise. Once back in
Yarnell, I checked his work site, thinking that perhaps he was just terribly
inconsiderate. I struck out, again. So I went home. NO messages. NO note. 

A couple of hours later (7:00)
Shaun came over to ask where Chris was. Apparently he was to meet Shaun in
Prescott Valley to help him load doors at
Home Depot. I wanted to say Cheese and
crackers. I didn’t. I did; however, say, “Crap.”

Chris got home at 8:30 pm. He was literally red from frustration. Evidently, he was pulled over immediately
upon entering town. Well, not exactly
pulled over. The cop followed Chris for
a couple of miles before Chris just pulled into the hospital parking lot to get
it over with…or so he thought. Officer
Unfriendly began with, “Do you know anyone at the hospital?” The guy harassed Chris for not having a plate
or registration. When Chris said that he
in reality was on his way to the DOT, police dude acted like that was simply an
excuse. He then observed that the notarized title was dated two weeks ago
(because the fellow we bought it from knew he was going to sell it). This man actually got on his personal cell
phone to try to track down and call the seller. Upon failing to do so, he told Chris that he was lucky that he didn’t
get a hold of him. Chris, suffering from
heat induced senselessness, told the guy that, no, he wasn’t. The cop then made him sit there for another
hour while he continued to try to reach the old owner. FUN!
 

He then gave Chris a ticket and followed him to the DOT,
where he sat in the parking lot for an additional hour and a half waiting for
Chris to emerge. This is our tax dollars
hard at work, folks. Chris came out and
put the new plate in his back window to go over to the auto parts store. Lights on and he’s pulled over, again. “Did you know that you are not properly
displaying your license plate?” Chris
said that he just got it (duh!), had no screws, and was on his way to buy
them. He asked if the horrible little
man would like to follow him there, as well. Get this, his response was, “No, I don’t want to waste my time.”

I think he just needed a doughnut fix. 

So, then Chris heads over to pick up his shock and is told
that they forgot to have it sent from the Prescott Valley (PV) store. Irate, Chris tells him that he’s driving on 3
new shocks and really needs the 4th in order to not screw up his
car. Bob gets on the phone with Javier –
yells at him, and tells him that Chris is on his way. Chris drives to PV. Javier tells Chris that he’s never heard of
said part. Chris (waving receipt) bellows
at Javier that he had heard the entire conversation and could easily repeat it
word for word. Shocked, Javier gets
shock.

Chris drives back over to Discount Tires, where they take
1&1/2 hours to put on two tires. Then he comes home, yes, red with frustration.

Oh, did I tell you that his trip started out with him
running out of gas just as he was rolling into the gas station at 
Skull Valley?

What a day.

I guess sitting in a hot car with a baby was kind of mild by
comparison.

9 thoughts on “I Married Charlie Brown

  1. I guess there are Billy Bobs everywhere. I got pulled a few years ago for not having a current years sticker on my license plate. I told him that I had the current sticker in the car and showed it to him. He told me to tell it to the judge. That meant I could either travel 100 miles and appear in court on the date or pay the fine.

    Cheese and Crackers.

Leave a Reply

I Married Charlie Brown

Football_1








O
ne of those days…

Today, Kajsa had physical therapy at 1:00 pm.
I got her
up and bathed, and was heading out the door when Chris arrived for his
afternoon time off. (Because of the
heat, Shaun and Chris work 
8:00-12:00
and
6:00-10:00 ) He said that he was also going in to Prescott
(45 minutes away) to register his car, buy a shock absorber, and replace the
front tires. I asked if he’d like to
meet me at Subway for a cheapo lunch. He
thought that sounded like a good idea and asked me to meet him at
2:00 at Discount tires. Super, I thought, a date with my husband – a
rare and happy event.

P.T. went well. Kajsa
charmed her way out of the hardest of activities, but did work on her kicking,
stair climbing and backward propulsion. Its pretty cool. Her P.T., Darcy,
has a very low swing. Kajsa can push
herself back and then raise both legs to swing. Little does she know that she’s working her quads and abs. We got some new orthothics and away we went.

I got to the tire store and circled around for a few
minutes. Not seeing Chris, I parked and
chilled out for a few minutes with NPR. They were having a nice interview with The Daily Show’s host John
Stewart. (Did you know: a recent study
showed that watchers of The Daily Show are in fact better informed than those
who watch the network news?) Well,
anyway, the chilling out didn’t last very long – on a couple of levels. Kajsa got bored and I decided that I was
being incredibly politically incorrect by running my AC in a parking lot. So I rolled down all the windows and turned
off the car. I left the key on in order
to listen to the radio. Kajsa was
promptly moved to the front passenger seat, which she thought was a fine treat,
indeed.

One hour and fifteen minutes later, I was a stinky, sweaty
mess, who couldn’t care less about current events or the song writing career of
Carole King. Kajsa was by now also very
sweaty and smelling quite suspicious, herself. So I went into 
Discount Tire Center to inquire as to any
personal messages which may have been left on my behalf. Nope. I called
my house. No
answer. I called Shaun and Chrissy’s. No answer. I began to seriously
worry. Flashes of fiery crashes flew through my head. My husband being
hauled off to jail for lack
of license plate or registration also crowded out rationality. I told
the guy that I was going to go cool
off at the Goodwill and would be back in one hour. After trying on five
outfits and leaving with
nothing but a new $0.49 board book for the toddler, drove back over to
the tire
store. No hubby. Now I was truly worrying!

On my way home, I drove through the Napa,
Checker’s and Auto Zone parking lots. The whole way back, I scoured the shoulders and cliffs below for a sign
of my love’s demise. Once back in
Yarnell, I checked his work site, thinking that perhaps he was just terribly
inconsiderate. I struck out, again. So I went home. NO messages. NO note. 

A couple of hours later (7:00)
Shaun came over to ask where Chris was. Apparently he was to meet Shaun in
Prescott Valley to help him load doors at
Home Depot. I wanted to say Cheese and
crackers. I didn’t. I did; however, say, “Crap.”

Chris got home at 8:30 pm. He was literally red from frustration. Evidently, he was pulled over immediately
upon entering town. Well, not exactly
pulled over. The cop followed Chris for
a couple of miles before Chris just pulled into the hospital parking lot to get
it over with…or so he thought. Officer
Unfriendly began with, “Do you know anyone at the hospital?” The guy harassed Chris for not having a plate
or registration. When Chris said that he
in reality was on his way to the DOT, police dude acted like that was simply an
excuse. He then observed that the notarized title was dated two weeks ago
(because the fellow we bought it from knew he was going to sell it). This man actually got on his personal cell
phone to try to track down and call the seller. Upon failing to do so, he told Chris that he was lucky that he didn’t
get a hold of him. Chris, suffering from
heat induced senselessness, told the guy that, no, he wasn’t. The cop then made him sit there for another
hour while he continued to try to reach the old owner. FUN!
 

He then gave Chris a ticket and followed him to the DOT,
where he sat in the parking lot for an additional hour and a half waiting for
Chris to emerge. This is our tax dollars
hard at work, folks. Chris came out and
put the new plate in his back window to go over to the auto parts store. Lights on and he’s pulled over, again. “Did you know that you are not properly
displaying your license plate?” Chris
said that he just got it (duh!), had no screws, and was on his way to buy
them. He asked if the horrible little
man would like to follow him there, as well. Get this, his response was, “No, I don’t want to waste my time.”

I think he just needed a doughnut fix. 

So, then Chris heads over to pick up his shock and is told
that they forgot to have it sent from the Prescott Valley (PV) store. Irate, Chris tells him that he’s driving on 3
new shocks and really needs the 4th in order to not screw up his
car. Bob gets on the phone with Javier –
yells at him, and tells him that Chris is on his way. Chris drives to PV. Javier tells Chris that he’s never heard of
said part. Chris (waving receipt) bellows
at Javier that he had heard the entire conversation and could easily repeat it
word for word. Shocked, Javier gets
shock.

Chris drives back over to Discount Tires, where they take
1&1/2 hours to put on two tires. Then he comes home, yes, red with frustration.

Oh, did I tell you that his trip started out with him
running out of gas just as he was rolling into the gas station at 
Skull Valley?

What a day.

I guess sitting in a hot car with a baby was kind of mild by
comparison.

3 thoughts on “I Married Charlie Brown

  1. I can’t help but ask. I know I’m butting in, but I ran into the word ‘meme’ in a crossword puzzle the other day. According to Mr. Webster it is “a cultural item that is transmitted by repetition in a manner analagous to the biological transmission of genes”. This was a word that I was unaware of even after living and being a connoisseur of fine words for $^#% years. Rowan, are you the keeper of memes? If so, I can think of no better person.

  2. Holy smokes! What a day! I feel bad for your husband for having to deal with all of that and just as bad for you for not knowing where the hell he was.
    Glad that Kajsa’s PT is going well. She’s such a lil cutiepie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

