The Meme

 


Img_0411_cropped_1

I have been meme’d  by true blue semi-crunchy mama. She sent me a bunch of questions (that I’d swear were harder than anybody else’s). I’ve provided the answers and posted it for your edification. Here goes:

OK, Rowan, here are your questions (from me, the proud and uber-practical, LOL):

1.
You are gardening. Suddenly you realize that you have accidentally
invented a new kind of flower. What kind is it? What do you name it? Do
you pick it or market it–what do you do?

   

Well, I don’t think I’d invent anything botanical. So I’ll approach this as though I’d discovered it…

I believe it would be a beautiful vining rose, with vibrant indigo flowers. It would carry the sweet overtone of my grandmothers, with just a touch of pepperiness, and a slight note of lemon. 

I
probably would have found it while taking clippings on a cliffside or
in an old falling apart cemetery or barn – way out in the country.
 The first thing that I would do would be to call up Mike Shoup at the Antique Rose Emporium 
in Independence, Texas. I’d take a couple of days to drive over to see the place and have my flower catalogued. 

I would never name it after myself. (A star maybe, but not a flower.) I just don’t smell that great, most of the time. Probably, I’d name it after the place where I found it. Some object in the landscape where the light hit just right, or the name on the tombstone, if it was just perfect for a rose.

Maybe with a little luck, I’d get to meet some members of the Texas Rose Rustlers.  Perhaps they’d even invite me to join them on their annual Pearl Harbor Day rustle. With a little luck, I’d run into Robin Chotzinoff, who wrote of her lessons learned from old roses: 

1. There is more than one way to be beautiful

2. Survival is a noble goal 

3. Good climates are in the eye of the beholder, not the tourism board.

4. If you are attacked by disease, abandonment, or a bad chain of events, do not necessarily despair. There is always the chance you were bread to be tough.

5. Everyone should not smell the same.


2. Describe your favorite nature walk.

That’s an easy one. I love the Hall of Mosses  in the Hoh Rainforest , on the Olympic peninsula of Washington. This is the type of environment that brings me a deep sense of peace. My skin is moist and alert and there are a multitude of gentle soul cleansing sounds. It is so lush and visually multi-layered; the type of place where the longer you gaze at one spot, the more you see. When I walk there, I feel small, yet important. As though I am an integral part of what is happening all around me. 

I can choose on any given day to stroll about with a toddler;  or take off up the mountain on a true – lug the water, and pack in your tent kind of a trek …whichever happens to suit my fancy.

   

3. If you could be famous for a week for doing something, what would it be and why?

 

Gee, I don’t know…only a week? How could I make an important impact and then have it over in a week. Maybe I’d cure all diseases  while simultaneously ending world hunger and then disappear into the rainforest (which, by the way, I’d also saved). 

The impact would be made, but then our sound bite society would quickly forget who dunnit. Oh, while I was at it, I’d convince the leaders of the world that war  is stupid, obscene, stupid, useless, stupid, wasteful,  and immensely stupid!!!!

4. What is number one reason to have kids?

   

Somebody’s gotta make the cute ones. 

Just kidding!   

I think Love is the number one reason to have kids.

5. Describe your favorite way to be alone.

   

I absolutely love being alone in a big ole’ bathtub with candles and a terrific book. While I’m at it could I put it on a beach – at sunset, with a waterfall in the background?

      

Whew…that was exhausting. I sure hope it fits the bill. Now I’ll have to come up with one for you!

Leave a Reply

