psssst (don’t tell anyone)


So I was lying in bed feeling pretty proud of myself as far as this site goes. I’ve linked to other blogs. I’ve put in a nifty little tag board. I even have a fancy scrolling border. Yup, I’m a super cool geek.

Then it hit me. I’m no geek. I’m a total fraud. I don’t know what I’m doing. In fact and here’s the deep dark secret. I don’t know html.

I mean sure I know a little bit. I can italicize and bold along with the best of them, but really and truly; I’m just a common thief.

I figured out that I can view other pages on the prowl. When I find a feature that I like, I simply View their Page Source, track down the cool gimmick, and then paste it into my template. Whammy! My page is now uber cool. Just like theirs was.

You know, I might be able to reconcile myself to the horrors of fraudulent hipness, if I could get over this sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach.

You see, this is verrry familiar to me. Its just like High school algebra all over again, except my face looks better and my body worse. Oh, well.

I used to sit in that class trying for the life of me to look like I knew what was going on. All the while everyone around me was mentally wallowing around in what seemed to be imaginary concepts. I tried to understand it, but to no avail. So I learned to plug in these mysterious formulas and then build up the extemporaneous information around it. A mathematical graven idol devoted to my own ignorance.

I passed the class, but I’ll never know how. It just felt like a fluke. But that’s O.K., I told myself. You always have words ~~ beautiful, silky, and toothsome words. Ahhh, that’s better.

So how shocked was I this morning when I realized that I have, in fact, found the exact place where algebra seems to meet language. HYPER TEXT MARKUP LANGUAGE! The horror-the dismay. How could I go on? How could I continue to enjoy my verbose bubblings? Would I have to tough it out and learn more of the mysteries of html. Or could I continue to bury my head in the sand while following the “I link; therefore, I think” method of posting and improving.

I’m not sure. Perhaps I’ll simply learn as I go. Maybe I’ll research each new code as I use it – as an effort to sleep through the night & to face myself in the mirror.

Or, maybe I’ll just sit here typing away, trying once again to look like I know what I’m doing.

Posted by Hello

Leave a Reply

